Wild Cats of South America (for kids)

This is a page that lists the wild cat species of South America. Please note that it is being built slowly. There are links to pages on each of the cat species (this is growing as at November 2012).

There are ten different cat species in South America. This is the same number of species that are found in Southeast Asia and one more than the number of wild cat species in Africa.

These are the wild cats of South America. The heaviest is at the top. The lightest and smallest is at the bottom. Clicking on the link or the image takes you to a page on the wild cat species written in plain English.

  1. Jaguar (31-121 kilograms – kgs)
  2. Puma (25-80 kgs)
  3. Ocelot (6.6 -16 kgs)
  4. Jaguarundi (3.5-7 kgs)
  5. Geoffroy’s cat (2.6-6.5)
  6. Andean mountain cat (4-5 kgs)
  7. Margay (3-4 kgs)
  8. Pampas cat (1.7-3.7 kgs)
  9. Kodkod (1.5-2.8 kgs)
  10. Oncilla (1.5-2.8 kgs)

Jaguar Cat Facts For Kids

Cougar Cat Facts For Kids

Ocelot Facts For Kids

Jaguarundi Facts For Kids

Geoffroy’s Cat Facts For Kids

Andean Mountain Cat Facts For Kids

Margay Cat Facts For Kids

Pampas Cat

Oncilla Cat Facts For Kids

Kodkod Cat Facts For Kids

Please comment here using either Facebook or WordPress (when available).
Leave a Comment